Quick Summary. Symbiotec Pharmalab, the world's dominant maker of corticosteroid and steroidal-hormone APIs, is raising a ₹150 crore fresh issue. The operating business is genuine: 80%+ global volume share in its top molecules and ₹869 crore of FY26 revenue growing 21% over two years. But the parent has lent ₹987.83 crore to three subsidiaries whose financials the prospectus barely discloses. The loans are open-ended, grew 341% to 507% in three years, and their recovery depends on greenfield projects with no stated commercialisation date. That gap is the story.
If you have read the DRHP of a pharma company in the last two years, you know the shape of this IPO: a profitable, export-heavy API maker, a promoter who has run the business for decades, and a balance sheet doing more work than the income statement lets on. Symbiotec Pharmalab fits the template, with one difference. The money that dominates its balance sheet is not debt it owes. It is ₹987.83 crore the parent has lent out to its own wholly-owned subsidiaries, and the prospectus gives you almost no way to see what is behind it.
That is the tension this article turns on. The headline numbers say one thing: a category-leading, cash-generative API business coming to market with a clean cap table. The disclosure structure says another: the single largest asset on the parent's books sits inside subsidiaries whose revenue, EBITDA, cash flow and asset base are not disclosed anywhere in the prospectus. Understanding the difference between those two readings is the whole exercise, because the two are not the same company.
Symbiotec does not make blockbuster patent drugs. It makes the corticosteroid and steroidal-hormone APIs that go into them, and it dominates that niche to a degree that is rare in any industry.
APIs are 96.07% of FY26 revenue from operations. Within that, concentration is high and stable: the top five products made up 62.27% of FY26 revenue and the top ten 78.96%. The five leading molecules are Progesterone, Hydrocortisone, Testosterone, Betamethasone and Methylprednisolone. In three of them the company holds a commanding global volume share, Hydrocortisone at 80.1%, Testosterone at 76.4% and Methylprednisolone at 76.0%, with Betamethasone at 33.4% and Progesterone at 21.2%.
The breadth underneath the concentration matters. The catalogue runs to 60+ corticosteroid and steroidal-hormone APIs, covering roughly 90% of that market by product count, supported by 43 US DMFs and 23 CEPs. The two newer streams, CDMO at under 1% of revenue and complex injectables at 3.8%, are too small to matter yet, though fermentation, GLP-1, insulin and conjugated estrogens are cited as development pipelines.
Here is the honest read of the concentration risk. A broad catalogue is not the same as diversified earnings. The revenue is concentrated in five molecules and ten, and all of it sits in one product category, corticosteroids and steroidal hormones, so a single end-market cycle hits everything at once. But the concentration is in products where Symbiotec is the volume leader, which is a very different risk profile from being a marginal player in someone else's category. It is a genuine concentration flag with a mitigating answer, not a clean either-or.
The consolidated numbers tell a steady, unspectacular growth story.
| Metric | FY24 | FY25 | FY26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue (₹ Cr) | 716.25 | 751.55 | 869.15 |
| Trade receivables (₹ Cr) | 125.67 | 175.65 | 197.60 |
| Inventory (₹ Cr) | 335.79 | 261.45 | 236.88 |
| Trade payables (₹ Cr) | 227.61 | 88.50 | 138.33 |
Over FY24 to FY26 revenue grew 21.3%, EBITDA 31.0% and PAT 9.8%. FY26 consolidated PAT was ₹109.90 crore on EBITDA of ₹231.97 crore, with operating cash flow of ₹174.59 crore and a net worth of ₹1,158.64 crore. This is a profitable, cash-generative business at the operating level.
The working capital picture is where the first crack appears. Receivable days climbed from 62 in FY24 to 74.8 in FY25 to 78.5 in FY26. The mechanical driver is a calculation, not a mystery: receivables grew 57.2% while revenue grew 21.3%, so the receivables line ran nearly three times faster than sales. That roughly 16.5 extra days ties up about ₹39 crore of cash versus the FY24 baseline.
The counter-evidence is worth stating plainly. The reported aging actually improved over the same period, with overdue receivables under six months falling from ₹407.35 crore-equivalent to ₹124.90 crore-equivalent between FY24 and FY25, and bad-debt write-offs were negligible. The RHP states there were no instances of delayed or non-received payment in the last three fiscals. So the rise in receivable days is partly a timing and mix effect, higher sales producing larger current balances, rather than a clear deterioration in collection quality. The mildest red flag of the group, and the one with the most reasonable explanation. The caveat is that the FY26 aging schedule was not retrieved, so the latest-year picture is incomplete.
This is the number that changes how the whole IPO reads. As of March 31, 2026 the parent had extended ₹987.83 crore in loans to three wholly-owned subsidiaries: ₹396.01 crore to Knovea Pharmaceutical, ₹573.98 crore to Symbiotec Zenfold, and ₹17.84 crore to Navisci Pte Ltd, plus a ₹21.18 crore corporate guarantee to Zenfold.
A critical framing point first, because it is easy to misread. These are intercompany loans from the parent to its own subsidiaries. On consolidation they eliminate, as does the interest between them. So the ₹988 crore is not a consolidated-group liability; consolidated external debt is ₹433.36 crore. The ₹988 crore is a parent-standalone asset, and its recoverability is the entire question.
Scale it against the group's own metrics and it becomes clear why it matters.
| The ₹987.83 Cr loan book versus | Multiple |
|---|---|
| Consolidated FY26 revenue | 1.14x |
| Consolidated net worth | 0.85x |
| Consolidated net debt | 2.59x |
| Parent standalone borrowings | 2.54x |
| Consolidated FY26 PAT | 8.99x |
Money parked in subsidiaries is 2.5x the group's external debt and nearly 9x its annual profit.
The single most important scale fact in the entire prospectus: the money parked inside subsidiaries is two and a half times the group's external debt and nearly nine times its annual profit. The loans grew 341% for Knovea and 507% for Zenfold over three years.
The prospectus tells you almost nothing about the subsidiaries' own financials. For each one it discloses only net worth and profit after tax, plus the intercompany loan flows and the interest charged. There is no subsidiary revenue, EBITDA, cash flow, total assets, external borrowings, capex or depreciation anywhere in the retrieved document. That thinness is itself a finding for a ₹988 crore deployment.
The only two subsidiary line items disclosed:
| FY24 | FY25 | FY26 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Knovea net worth (₹ Cr) | 21.46 | 8.01 | 7.17 |
| Knovea PAT (₹ Cr) | (10.99) | (13.81) | (1.64) |
| Zenfold net worth (₹ Cr) | (4.38) | (8.78) | (35.53) |
| Zenfold PAT (₹ Cr) | (2.68) | (4.43) | (26.86) |
Two structural observations follow from these thin numbers. Knovea has positive but eroding net worth and losses tiny relative to the ₹396 crore it has absorbed; it is operating roughly near break-even before interest, which means its "loss" is largely interest drag rather than operational bleeding. Zenfold has negative and sharply worsening net worth, at minus ₹35.53 crore, with FY26 losses of ₹26.86 crore against a ₹574 crore loan.
Where has the money actually gone? This is a calculation, not a disclosure. In FY26 the two subsidiaries drew ₹513.9 crore of new loans yet posted combined net losses of only ₹28.5 crore. The overwhelming majority of what they drew is therefore sitting in capital assets rather than being lost on the P&L. The parent-level FY26 capex of ₹237.31 crore is the only hard capex anchor. The precise split between plant and machinery, land, construction work in progress and working capital is not disclosed, so the honest statement is that the funds appear to be going into balance-sheet assets whose value cannot be verified from the prospectus.
The reconciliation itself is clean and meaningful. Working backwards from the disclosed FY26 closing balance, the principal-only formula closes exactly for both subsidiaries. That proves interest is not being capitalised into the loan principal.
Implied FY24 opening versus FY26 disclosed closing: open-ended funding compounding far faster than it is repaid.
The repayment pattern is the clearest signal of what these loans really are. Over FY24 to FY26, Knovea drew ₹350.53 crore and repaid ₹44.25 crore, just 12.6% of cumulative drawings. Zenfold drew ₹529.98 crore and repaid ₹50.59 crore, 9.5%. In FY26 the repay-to-draw ratio was 2.8% for Knovea and 4.9% for Zenfold.
That behaviour rules out one reading and points firmly at another. This is not long-term project financing in the conventional lender sense, because there is no fixed tenure, no sanctioned limit, no amortisation or bullet schedule. The loans are described as need-based, which is the defining characteristic. It is open-ended, evergreen, draw-as-needed funding, the signature of a facility being kept alive rather than serviced toward a payoff. There is a mild working-capital flavour, since repayments do occur each year and no default has been recorded in three fiscals, but the scale and the open-endedness place it firmly in the third category: open-ended parent funding of subsidiaries.
The interest accrued over three years roughly equals the cumulative principal repaid. Repayments are barely covering interest, let alone principal, while the outstanding keeps compounding.
In FY26 the parent charged ₹54.86 crore of interest across the three subsidiaries, Knovea ₹221.10 crore-equivalent, Zenfold ₹315.77 crore-equivalent and Navisci ₹11.72 crore-equivalent. This is the most frequently misunderstood number in the whole prospectus, and it deserves a precise explanation.
Because the interest is intercompany, on consolidation it eliminates against the subsidiaries' interest expense. It does not inflate consolidated PAT. It supports the parent's standalone P&L only. So the ₹54.86 crore is real accounting income in the parent's books, but it is a group-internal accrual, not an independent cash-generating asset.
The scale of it is striking. The ₹54.86 crore is roughly 49.9% of consolidated FY26 PAT and 23.6% of consolidated EBITDA. In the same year the parent advanced ₹513.9 crore of new loans to these subsidiaries, about 9.4 times the interest it recognised. So the parent is simultaneously recognising roughly ₹55 crore of interest income while pouring roughly ₹514 crore of new funding in.
On the question of whether this is circular funding, the disciplined answer is that the pattern is consistent with internal recycling, but it cannot be proven from the disclosures. Because interest is not capitalised into principal, it must be serviced either in cash or through a separate interest receivable, and the prospectus does not disclose which. There is no interest-receivable balance, no overdue-interest note, and no cash-versus-accrual split. A definitive finding would require the parent's interest-receivable balance and the subsidiaries' interest-paid-in-cash figure, neither of which is disclosed. The honest statement is that the cash evidence is absent, not that the accrual is fraudulent.
The group has already shown that a parent-funded subsidiary in this structure can fail. Navisci Pte Ltd, the Singapore entity, had its investment impaired by ₹34.97 crore and its entire ₹17.84 crore loan written off in FY26, with a negative net worth of ₹10.67 crore.
The correct use of Navisci is directional, not arithmetic. It is a small-scale demonstration that the mechanism of full write-off exists in this group and that the parent will take the asset-side hit. But Navisci is ₹17.84 crore, about 1.8% of the book, a Singapore entity, and the cause of its failure is not disclosed. Knovea and Zenfold are Indian, 20 to 30 times larger, and hold the fixed assets the loans funded. A small precedent proves risk exists; it does not quantify the risk on the much larger book.
The individual governance items are best understood as one connected structure rather than separate problems. The common thread is that the same controlling promoter sits on both sides of nearly every transaction.
Promoters and promoter group hold 36.40% of pre-Offer equity on a fully diluted basis. The RHP itself warns in plain terms that the interests of the controlling shareholders could conflict with the interests of other shareholders. At roughly 36%, the promoters are comfortably above the threshold that lets them block special resolutions, so they can veto the appointment or removal of auditors, changes to capital and related-party matters that require a supermajority. There is no disclosed dual-class mechanism; control is purely shareholding-driven, and the RHP's own conflict-of-interest warning makes the practical effect clear: the same controlling promoter sits on both sides of the transactions that matter, which is why the related-party framing below is worth reading carefully.
Promoter-family remuneration is the smallest and most misunderstood of the group. Relatives of the KMP drew ₹1.99 crore in FY24 and ₹3.49 crore in FY26, a rise of about 75%, with the family total including the MD at ₹11.58 crore in FY26. The composition is the interesting part: two sons of the MD entered or ramped their pay in FY25 and FY26, precisely the two fiscals before the IPO, and the MD's own pay reached a three-year high in FY26. Their roles, designations and appointment dates are not disclosed. Against operating metrics the rise stands out, relatives' pay up 74.9% versus revenue up 21.3%, EBITDA up 31.0% and PAT up 9.8%. But it is small in absolute terms, ₹11.58 crore against ₹109.90 crore of PAT, and nothing in the disclosures says it is unjustified; the actual gap is that the roles are simply not stated. This is a hygiene signal, not a misappropriation.
Twenty-five promoter-linked entities were struck off or dissolved, 24 LLPs plus Propel Pharma Corp (USA), all but one on the same date of April 20, 2026, months before the filing. This sounds alarming, and the mass single-day strike-off is genuinely unusual. But the prospectus explicitly confirms there were no transactions with any of these struck-off companies in the three fiscal years before filing. The honest reading is that these look like dormant, nominee-style shell LLPs wound down to simplify the promoter's footprint before the IPO. The residual concern is opacity about what they did and why so many on one day, which the prospectus does not answer, rather than evidence of hidden cash flows.
The related-party framing ties it together. The RHP states the company has no group companies as per SEBI ICDR Regulations, despite extensive transactions with entities over which promoters have significant influence, and it sets a materiality threshold of 10% of consolidated revenue above which a related entity must be named. No entity crossed it. This is a regulatory-definitional structure, technically valid, but its practical effect is that the promoter group can transact with controlled-but-not-qualifying entities below the threshold with thinner investor visibility. It matters here precisely because the ₹988 crore intercompany book and the ₹11.58 crore family remuneration are the transactions this framing lets sit in a grey zone.
The auditor's recurring qualification is a genuine, quantified asset-title problem. ₹75.05 crore of leasehold land across three entities remains registered in the name of STI India Limited, the seller, which had itself acquired the land under the SARFAESI Act. The registration has been pending two to three years: the parent's ₹375.24 crore-equivalent for three years, Zenfold's ₹157.29 crore-equivalent for two, and Knovea's ₹217.95 crore-equivalent for two. This is a CARO qualification for all three reported fiscals, roughly 6.5% of consolidated net worth. Until registration completes, the group's ownership of that land is not perfected, and it is the most concrete recurring auditor flag.
A second, FY26-only observation concerns the audit-trail feature not being enabled for certain privileged and administrative access changes, remediated only on March 27, 2026, weeks before the filing. That is a narrower, internal-controls hygiene point and a lesser concern than the title issue.
IPO at a glance. The issue opened on August 24, 2026 and closes on August 27, 2026, with a price band of ₹938 to ₹988 per share. The total issue is ₹1,757 crore, split between a ₹150 crore fresh issue and a ₹1,607 crore offer for sale, at a lot size of 15 shares, a minimum investment of ₹14,820 at the upper band. Allotment is expected on August 28, 2026, refunds and share credit on August 31, 2026, and listing on the BSE and NSE tentatively on September 1, 2026. Grey-market indications during the issue pointed to a premium of around ₹411 over the upper band, implying an indicative listing pop of roughly 42%. GMP is an unofficial, indicative grey-market figure that moves rapidly and is not a reliable predictor of the listing price, which exchange demand will set.
The Fresh Issue is up to ₹150 crore, of which ₹112.50 crore, 75%, is earmarked to prepay or repay borrowings, with the balance going to general corporate purposes. There is also an Offer for Sale of roughly ₹1,607 crore to selling shareholders, which the company does not receive.
The debt repayment is narrow. It is specifically earmarked for part of two cash-credit working-capital facilities, SBI with ₹1,226.51 crore-equivalent outstanding at 8.20% and HDFC with ₹690.97 crore-equivalent at 7.75%. Parent standalone borrowings at March 31, 2026 were ₹388.95 crore, so the ₹112.50 crore covers about 29% of the parent's own borrowings, and only the short-term cash-credit layer. It does not touch the term loan or the non-fund-based limits.
Here is the asymmetry that defines the deal. The Fresh Issue is a parent-level balance-sheet repair tool. It repays about 29% of the parent's own working-capital debt and does nothing for the ₹988 crore the parent has lent out. The debt-repayment object covers only borrowings availed by the company itself, and the ₹988 crore is an asset of the parent, not a liability, so no IPO proceeds are allocated to it. The deleveraging story is entirely about the external liability side; the asset-side subsidiary-loan concentration is left fully in place and still growing.
The bull case is real and should be stated without apology. Symbiotec is the dominant global producer in its core molecules, with 80%+ volume share in three of them, which gives it pricing power and an installed base of regulatory approvals that is genuinely hard to replicate. The operating business is profitable and cash-generative, with FY26 revenue of ₹869 crore, PAT of ₹109.90 crore and operating cash flow of ₹174.59 crore. The intercompany loans, on this reading, are funding valuable greenfield plants whose assets are real and whose eventual cash flows will repay the parent. Knovea is already near break-even before interest, the loans reconcile cleanly, there is no default history, and the interest is not being capitalised into principal. The working-capital deterioration is mild and partly explained by timing. The mass strike-off has a benign explanation in the confirmed absence of transactions.
The bear case is that the prospectus gives the investor no way to test the bull case. The single largest asset on the parent's books is ₹988 crore lent to subsidiaries whose financials are barely disclosed, with no commercialisation date, no capacity, no utilisation, no revenue ramp and no repayment schedule. The loans behave as open-ended evergreen funding, compounding 341% to 507% in three years, with repayments at 2.8% to 4.9% of annual drawings. Zenfold's net worth is negative and worsening. The parent recognises ₹54.86 crore of interest income equal to about half of consolidated PAT, while simultaneously advancing ₹514 crore of new funding, and the cash leg of that interest is undisclosed. One small subsidiary has already been fully written off. The IPO refinances the parent's own debt while leaving this materially larger exposure untouched.
Weighing the two, the fairest characterisation is that nothing retrieved shows the money has been diverted or that the assets do not exist. The loans fund documented greenfield capex, carry no default history, and Knovea is near break-even before interest. That rules out treating the ₹988 crore as a plain failure today. But a schedule-less, open-ended book of two and a half times the group's external debt, sitting inside subsidiaries whose financials the prospectus barely discloses, is not a normal greenfield investment either. It is a high-risk internal funding arrangement whose recoverability is entirely contingent on an undated commercialisation event, and it upgrades to a material asset-quality risk precisely if commercialisation keeps slipping and the disclosure gap persists.
The first thing to track is disclosure itself. Any post-IPO release of subsidiary standalone financials, and whether the proceeds sit in tangible fixed assets and construction work in progress, will settle more than any single number.
Watch the commercialisation event. The prospectus gives no date, so the first reported subsidiary revenue, capacity utilisation and commissioning announcements are the milestones that matter. Until one lands, the ₹988 crore has no dated path back to the parent.
Watch whether the loan book keeps growing. The draw-versus-repay pattern each year, whether the outstanding stabilises or keeps compounding, tells you whether these are being serviced or perpetually topped up.
Watch the cash leg of the interest. Whether the parent's ₹54.86 crore of intercompany interest converts to cash or grows as an unrecovered receivable is the cleanest test of earnings quality in the whole group.
Watch Zenfold's net worth trajectory and any further impairment or write-off provisions, using Navisci as the template for what a failed funding relationship looks like.
Why is the ₹988 crore intercompany loan book the central issue?
Because it is the largest asset on the parent's balance sheet, at two and a half times the group's external debt and nearly nine times annual profit, and the prospectus discloses almost nothing about the subsidiaries behind it. No revenue, EBITDA, cash flow, total assets or repayment schedule is given for Knovea or Zenfold.
Is the ₹54.86 crore interest income fake profit?
No. It is real intercompany accounting income, but it eliminates on consolidation and does not inflate consolidated PAT. It supports the parent's standalone P&L. The genuine question is whether it is received in cash or grows as a receivable, and the prospectus does not disclose the cash leg.
Why are repayments so small relative to new drawings?
The loans are open-ended, need-based funding with no fixed tenure, no sanctioned limit and no amortisation schedule. In FY26 repayments were 2.8% of drawings for Knovea and 4.9% for Zenfold, the signature of evergreen funding rather than a facility being serviced toward a payoff.
What does the IPO actually do with its proceeds?
The ₹150 crore Fresh Issue repays about ₹112.50 crore of the parent's own cash-credit working-capital debt, roughly 29% of parent standalone borrowings. It does nothing for the ₹988 crore lent to subsidiaries, which is an asset, not a liability.
Is the API concentration a serious risk?
Revenue is concentrated in five molecules, 62% of the total, all in one product category. But Symbiotec is the volume leader in its top molecules, with 80%+ global share in three, which partly mitigates the risk. The real vulnerability is category concentration across all corticosteroids and steroidal hormones.
What is the single biggest risk to watch after listing?
The recoverability of the ₹988 crore loan book. Everything else, the interest accrual, the receivable days, the use of proceeds, is subordinate to whether these greenfield subsidiaries eventually commercialise and repay the parent.
Figures in this article come from the Symbiotec Pharmalab Red Herring Prospectus and its subsidiary disclosures as of the FY26 reporting period. Subsidiary revenue, EBITDA, cash flows, total assets, external borrowings, capex and depreciation are not disclosed in the prospectus, and where this article characterises where the loans went, it is a calculation derived from disclosed net losses and drawdowns, not a stated figure. The parent standalone net worth figure is an approximation. Implied opening loan balances are derived, not stated. All values are reported in ₹ crore or ₹ crore-equivalent. This is descriptive analysis of prospectus disclosures for educational purposes only.
This article is factual and descriptive analysis of publicly disclosed prospectus information. It is not investment advice, is not prepared by a SEBI-registered Research Analyst, and should not be read as a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security.